Guwahati, Assam
Home News 33.21 Percent Votes Grabbed by BJP in Assam

33.21 Percent Votes Grabbed by BJP in Assam

  by NEWSNER , 2021-05-03 16:37:06

33.21 Percent Votes Grabbed by BJP in Assam

BJP, which has emerged victorious within the Assam assembly elections for the second successive time, has garnered a 33.21 percent share of the votes, consistent with the committee.


Its alliance partner Asom Gana Parishad got 7.91 percent, while UPA major Congress registered 29.67 percent and AIUDF 9.29 percent.


The saffron party won 60 of the 126 seats, its allies Asom Gana Parishad nine and United Peoples Party (Liberal) six. Congress bagged 29 seats, its partner All India United Democratic Front 16 and Bodo Democratic Front four.


CPI-M won one seat, and another visited an independent.


As per the party-wise vote share data of the EC, the BJP contested in 92 seats and secured 6,84,538 (33.21%) of the entire votes polled.


Regional party AGP contested in 26 seats and garnered 1,519,777 (7.9 %) votes.


The EC website didn't speak of the vote share of UPPL which had contested in eight seats.


The Congress contested in 94 seats and won 5,703,341 votes (29.7 %), AIUDF was within the fray in 14 constituencies and got 1,786,551 (9.3 %) votes, while CPI(M) fought in two seats had secured just 160,758 (0.84 %) votes.


Others secured a 13.7 percent share with 2,628,518 votes and NOTA was the selection of 1.14 percent voters - or 219,578 of them.


The major winners are Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, his cabinet colleagues Himanta Biswa Sarma, Chandra Mohan Patowary, besides Speaker of the outgoing assembly Hitendra Nath Goswami, AGP chief Atul Bora jailed anti-CAA movement leader Akhil Gogoi.


The prominent losers are Assam Pradesh Congress president Ripun Bora and minister Pramila Rani Brahma of BPF.


Also Read: BJP-Led Alliance to Set Up Government in Assam Again