Guwahati, Assam
Home News Candidate Finalisation by BJP Might be Done Today

Candidate Finalisation by BJP Might be Done Today

  by NEWSNER , 2021-03-05 14:33:38

Candidate Finalisation by BJP Might be Done Today

The Central Election Committee (CEC) of the BJP will deliberate on Friday to finalise party candidates for the primary two phases of the Assembly elections in West Bengal and Assam.


The members of the CEC, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP president JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Sinh, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, senior leader BL Santosh, also met on Thursday evening to debate the names of probable candidates.


Among others who attended the meeting held at the party headquarters were Thawar Chand Gehlot, Jual Oram, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Bihar minister Shahnawaz Hussain.


Sources said the CEC is probably going to finalise candidates for the seats which will attend the polls within the first two phases – (60) in West Bengal and (86) in Assam - of Assembly elections on March 27 and April 1.


Assam Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonawal, party state in-charge Baijayant Panda and other senior leaders were present at the meeting, besides Assam poll in-charge Narendra Singh Tomar and co-in-charge Jitendra Singh.


From West Bengal, party state in-charge Kailash Vijayvargiya, state unit chief Dilip Ghosh, Union Ministers Babul Supriyo and Debasree Chaudhary, national vice chairman Mukul Roy, Suvendu Adhikari and Rajib Banerjee were present at the meeting.


Also Read: BPF Joining Assam Might Create a New Turn in Assam Politics


It has also emerged that before the Assembly polls, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address 20 rallies in poll-bound West Bengal, responding to the large demand of local Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders of those two states.


According to sources, the rallies are planned in such how that each one of the 23 districts of West Bengal are going to be covered in these rallies. BJP functionaries including Kailash Vijayvargiya, national General Secretary, Mukul Roy, national Vice-President, Sanjay Singh, General Secretary and Swapan Dasgupta, MP, Rajya Sabha are looking into the preparations at Brigade tract, where PM Modi will address a public meeting on March 7 at Brigade Ground, Kolkata.

This will be PM Modi's first rally in West Bengal post the announcement of election dates by the committee of India (ECI). Meanwhile, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is additionally expected to release the primary list of TMC candidates for the upcoming assembly polls today.


Ahead of the West Bengal assembly election, Trinamool Congress leaders held a gathering with ward presidents and coordinators in Kolkata on Thursday. Party leaders Abhishek Banerjee, Partha Chatterjee were among those present at the meeting at TMC Bhawan in Kolkata. The agenda of the meeting was to form the wards stronger. The party decided to place more flags and hoardings within the areas.


West Bengal Assembly elections are going to be held in eight phases ranging from March 27 with the ultimate round of voting happening on April 29. The counting of votes will happen on May 2.


West Bengal is probably going to witness a triangular contest at this point with TMC, Congress-Left alliance and BJP within the fray. While West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is seeking her third consecutive term, BJP has set a target of winning 200 seats within the 294-member state Assembly.


Congress and therefore the Left have stitched the alliance for the polls and had already finalised the seat-sharing agreement. they're also in-tuned with the Indian Secular Front (ISF), recently floated by influential legislator Abbas Siddique.


In the 2016 West Bengal Assembly elections, out of the 294 seats, Congress had managed to win 44 seats while the Left Front bagged 33 seats. The ruling TMC secured 211 seats and therefore the BJP had won 3 seats.


The BJP made deep inroads within the state within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections winning 18 seats and reducing TMC's tally to 22. Out of the entire 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, Congress won two seats, the Left drew a blank.


After BJP's performance within the 2019 polls, several TMC leaders have joined the party led by JP Nadda.


Read More: BJP President to Announce Coalition with AGP and UPPL for Upcoming Elections