Guwahati, Assam
Home News For the Final Phase of Assembly Polls, 40 Seats are Up for Grabs

For the Final Phase of Assembly Polls, 40 Seats are Up for Grabs

  by NEWSNER , 2021-04-03 11:31:44

For the Final Phase of Assembly Polls, 40 Seats are Up for Grabs

This is the phase where the incumbent BJP and its allies and therefore the challenger Congress and its partners may feel equally confident.


Of the 40 seats that are getting to choose the third and concluding phase on April 6, the BJP and therefore the Congress won 11 each in 2016.


The Congress' tally has remained steady at 11 within the last three elections. These 40 seats spread across 16 election districts are located in Lower Assam and therefore the Bodoland Territorial Region.


Last time, Congress had a lead of quite seven percentage points over the BJP in terms of vote share on these seats. the typical vote share of Congress has remained around 27 per cent since 2006. As many as 29 sitting MLAs, nine of them from the BJP and eight from the Congress, are contesting this point.


Phani Bhusan Choudhury has been winning Bongaigaon since 1985 from the AGP. He first entered the assembly from this seat in 1983 as an independent candidate.


According to reliable estimates, 14 of the 40 seats are Muslim-dominated and 7 falls within the Bodoland Territorial Region.


Victory Margins in 2016:


Despite modest vote shares of leading parties, the margin of victory in as many as 16 seats was quite 20,000 votes in 2016. there have been three such seats in 2006 and nine in 2011.


Out of those 16 seats, the BJP won six, the Congress five, the AGP three, and therefore the AIUDF and BOPF one each.


There were only a couple of seats -- seven altogether in 2016 -- where the margin of victory was but 5,000 votes.


There were 19 such seats in 2006 and nine in 2011.


Out of the 40 constituencies, Abhayapuri North and Goalpara East have seen tight contests within the last two polls.


Abhayapuri South constituency in North Salmara district saw the closest fight where the margin was just 191 votes.


Out of the 357 candidates fighting the polls in phase three, 25 (seven per cent) are women. The outgoing assembly had three women MLAs from the region. The tally in 2006 and 2011 was just two.


Pramila Rani Brahma may be a prominent female candidate, winning the Kokrajhar East seat for the last six consecutive terms.


Money and Muscle Power:


As per ADR data, 18 per cent of all candidates have pending criminal cases against them and 27 per cent of candidates have assets over Rs1 crore. the typical asset involves around Rs 2.2 crore.


Key Seats:


Jalukbari: Himanta Biswa Sarma, a minister within the Sonowal government, is contesting from this seat. He has been winning this constituency since 2001.


Patacharkuchi: Ranjeet Kumar Dass, state BJP President, is contesting from this seat. within the previous election, he won from the Sorbhog constituency.


Chaygaon: Rekibuddin Ahmed, sitting Congress MLA, is re-contesting from this seat. He also won in 2011. he's contesting against the AGP's Dr Kamala Kanta Kalita, who had won this seat fourfold within the past.


Sarukhetri: Kalpana Patowary, a jongleur from Assam, is contesting on the AGP's ticket. She is contesting against the sitting MLA, Jakir Hussain Sikdar from the Congress.


Chapaguri: Sahitya Akademy Award winner Urkhao Gwra Brahma is contesting on the UPPL's ticket. The UPPL is in alliance with the ruling BJP.


Also Read: Top Candidates' List for Second Phase of Assam Election