Guwahati, Assam
Home News Guwahati West Has More Female Voters than Male

Guwahati West Has More Female Voters than Male

  by NEWSNER , 2021-03-30 11:41:33

Guwahati West Has More Female Voters than Male

In the third phase of the continued Assam assembly election, the Gauhati West may be a unique seat where woman voters are higher in number than the male counterpart.


Located in Assam’s Kamrup district, the assembly constituency features a total of two,92,131 registered voters including 1,44,645 male and 1,47,486 female.


Gauhati West seat has become a matter of prestige for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) alliance because the top leaders of Assam are campaigning on this seat. Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has fielded a male candidate while Congress has fielded a women candidate during this seat.


Also Read: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi to Visit Assam on Tuesday


In the 2016 polls, AGP’s Ramendra Narayan Kalita defeated Congress candidate Dr Jury Sharma Bordoloi from the seat with an enormous margin. At this point, Congress has fielded Mira Borthakur Goswami against Kalita.


Going back to the 2011 assembly polls, Congress Congress’ Hemanta Talukdar defeated BJP’s Manoj Ram Phookan in Gauhati West seat. Keeping these analogies in mind, a troublesome contest is predicted within the seat.


Gauhati West seat will attend polls within the third phase of the Assam Assembly election on April 6. When it involves issues, water system and traffic jam are predominant during this area.


BJP’s Assam in-charge Baijayant Panda said, “We are during a very strong position within the four urban seats. Out of the four, BJP has fielded candidates in three seats and one seat our ally AGP is contesting. Amit Shah and JP Nadda both will visit the town on March 30 and 31 to hunt support for the NDA candidate.”


Congress has stitched a coalition named “Mahajath” with All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Communist Party of India, the Communist Party of India (Marxist), the Communist Party of India (Marxist Leninist) Liberation, the Anchalik Gana Marcha (AGM) and therefore the Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF) to oust the BJP government.


BJP, on the opposite hand, has allied with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL).


BJP goes to carry a huge election campaign within the Assam for the remaining phases with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers Amit Shah and Smriti Irani and party national president J P Nadda scheduled to carry election rallies to campaign for the second phase of the Assembly polls from March 30 to April 4.


Polling for the subsequent two phases is going to be persisted on April 1 and April 6. The counting of votes will happen on May 2.


Read More: Congress leader Gaurav Gogoi Cast His Vote